Learn
Help
Updates

Go to app
Log inGet Dovetail free

Product

OverviewChannelsMagicIntegrationsEnterpriseInsightsAnalysisPricingLog in

Company

About us
Careers16
Legal

© Dovetail Research Pty. Ltd.

TermsPrivacy Policy
Help centerPurchase and billingArticle

Update your subscription

Last updated13 March 2024
Read time3 min

Admins can update their workspace subscription at any time in ⚙️ Settings > Billing. This includes adding or removing paid seats, updating billing information, or switching your workspace’s payment method or plan entirely!


Contents


Add or remove user seats

Admins can update their subscription at any time by navigating to ⚙️ Settings > Billing > Change plan. After making the required changes, continue through the billing flow completely to ensure the update is successful.

Filled user seats cannot be removed from your subscription

In order to remove seats from your current subscription, you'll need to firstly either remove the users from your workspace or update their role to a free viewer role via the users page in your workspace settings, then you will be able to reduce the number of paid seats under the billing page by selecting 'edit subscription'.


Update billing and shipping details

Admins can update billing and shipping details at any time in ⚙️ Settings > Billing > Billing details > Edit > Save.

Customer details include your organization name, billing email, and your full organization address. This information is used by us for tax purposes, and the email address is where payment receipts, pricing updates, and other important announcements are sent. It’s important you keep these details up-to-date.


Update credit card

If the payment method for your subscription is set to Credit card, we’ll automatically charge your card at the start of each billing period (month or year). Please ensure your card details are up-to-date and you have enough funds available for the payment.

To update your card details, go to ⚙️ Settings > Billing > Card details > Update. This will replace any existing card details and will become your nominated card for future payments.


Update payment method

Admins can update the payment method for the subscription in ⚙️ Settings > Billing > Change plan. Proceed through the billing flow until the Payment page, change the nominated payment method then Update subscription.

Please note: To change the payment method from credit card to invoice, your team must be on a yearly billing cycle with a subscription above $5,000 USD.


Cancel your subscription

Admins can cancel a workspace’s subscription at any time in ⚙️ Settings > Billing > Actions (•••) > Cancel. Please ensure all steps are completed in the cancelation flow.

Please note

When canceling your subscription, the workspace will be deleted along with all of its data. If you’d like to keep your data, you can change your base plan or reduce your seats.

If you proceed with canceling your subscription, you’ll still have access to Dovetail for the remainder of any billing period you’ve paid for. Per our Master Subscription Agreement, we will not refund any remaining time in your billing period.

  • We’ll maintain your data for 30 days after the end of your billing period.

  • During this 30-day download period, we’ll provide you with access to your data so you can export your data before it’s deleted.

  • After this 30-day download period, your data will be deleted in accordance with our data retention policy.

  • If you do choose to subscribe again, the price may have changed.


Trial workspaces

If you do not upgrade your workspace after your free trial:

  • We’ll maintain your data for 30 days after trial expires.

  • During this 30-day period, we’ll provide you with access to your data so you can export your data before it’s deleted.

  • After this 30-day download period, your data will be deleted in accordance with our data retention policy. Please read our Master Subscription Agreement for more information.


Delete your workspace

Only workspace admins can delete workspaces. When you delete your workspace, we will process the deletion in accordance with our data retention policy.

Deleting is permanent and irreversible

Deleting your workspace is permanent and cannot be undone. There is no going back once you delete a workspace: all of your projects, notes, highlights, tags, insights, and users will be gone forever!

To delete your workspace, go to ⚙️ Settings > Delete workspace. Proceed to follow all steps to complete workspace deletion.

FAQs


Can we change our subscription billing cycle from monthly to yearly or vice versa?

Yes! This can be done at any time by a current workspace admin in the workspace Billing settings. Select Change plan and proceed through the update flow to re-select the billing cycle required.

We currently pay our subscription using credit card. Can this be changed to invoicing?

Possibly! To change the payment method from Pay by credit card to Pay by invoice, your team must first be on a yearly billing cycle and have a subscription above $5,000 USD.

If your subscription meets this criteria, a workspace admin can update the subscription payment method in the workspace's Billing settings by editing the subscription and selecting Payment by invoice in the subscription update flow.

My team signed up for Dovetail but want to pass the workspace onto our company/client to manage moving forward. How can we do this?

If you are an agency using Dovetail or you have signed up using a personal email address, you can transfer ownership of a whole workspace to a client or your company. View steps below that need to be taken to complete this.

Update user role

  • Log into your Dovetail workspace.

  • If your client has an existing account in your Dovetail workspace, update their workspace role to grant them admin access in the User settings.

  • If your client does not have an existing account in your Dovetail workspace, invite them to the workspace and grant them admin access once invite has been accepted.

  • If there are no available seats left in the workspace to action this change, you could re-allocate or remove an existing manager or contributor in the User settings to open up a paid seat.

Update customer and billing details

  • Once the new admin has been assigned, they will need to log into the workspace and update the subscription and the billing details for the workspace in billing.

  • In billing, your client will need to change the subscription plan for the account, update billing contact details, credit card details and billing cycle.

  • Depending on their chosen subscription plan, they can also update the payment method for the subscription from credit card to bank transfer payment (invoice on net 30 terms).

We want to cancel our subscription and delete our workspace immediately, how can we do this?

If you no longer need to access your workspace and data within, you can cancel your subscription and delete your workspace in Settings. When you delete your workspace, we will process the deletion in accordance with our data retention policy.

Please be aware that if you proceed with deleting your workspace, it will delete immediately and you will not have access to Dovetail for the remainder of any billing period you’ve paid for. Per our Master Subscription Agreement, we will not refund any remaining time in your billing period.

Give us feedback

Was this article useful?

Product

OverviewChannelsMagicIntegrationsEnterpriseInsightsAnalysisPricingLog in

Company

About us
Careers16
Legal
© Dovetail Research Pty. Ltd.
TermsPrivacy Policy

Log in or sign up

Get started for free


or


By clicking “Continue with Google / Email” you agree to our User Terms of Service and Privacy Policy